Academics » Common Core State Standards

Common Core State Standards

CA Department of Education

Adopted in California in August 2010, the K-12 Common Core State Standards were developed by the National Governors Association Center for Best Practices and the Council of Chief State School Officers. This state-led effort included governors and state commissioners of education from 48 states, two territories and the District of Columbia.

These standards define the knowledge and skills students should have within their K-12 education careers so they will graduate high school able to succeed in entry-level, credit-bearing academic college courses and in workforce training programs. The standards:

  • are aligned with college and work expectations;
  • include rigorous content and application of knowledge through high-order skills;
  • build upon strengths and lessons of current state standards, and;
  • prepare students to succeed in a global economy and society.

The Common Core State Standards added strength to existing California Standards by including additional standards for vocabulary and new standards for collaborative discussions. Literacy standards that focus on reading and writing instruction during history/social studies and science also were included. In mathematics, standards were added to demonstrate a stronger emphasis on the properties of mathematics and number fluency.

The Placentia-Yorba Linda Unified School District began implementing the K-12 Common Core State Standards in 2013-14. The California Department of Education website provides additional information about Common Core State Standards.

Learn More About the Content Standards